The Chancellor’s Military and Veterans Committee


The Chancellor’s Military and Veterans Standing Committee serves as an advisory committee to the Chancellor concerning issues and programming related to the military and veteran’s community at the University of Missouri.  The Committee develops recommendations for ways to positively improve the educational, family, health and career support to the university military and veteran’s community based upon dialogue between departments within the university, state and federal organizations and agencies, and the surrounding business community. The committee works to create awareness of the issues faced by this population; recommends the development of programs to support veterans and family members; helps connect students, faculty, staff and alumni to events and organizations related to veterans issues; identifies opportunities to connect the University’s research and engagement mission with veteran and military issues; and provides a forum for university military and veterans for feedback on issues that affect their lives.

  • 11 Executive Committee
  • 7   Faculty
  • 11 Staff
  • 2  MSA Students
  • 1   GPC Student
  • 2  Ex Officio

Co-Chairs: Robert Ross & Marty Oetting

Executive Committee

Robert Ross
Director, MU Veterans Center

Marty Oetting
Chief of Staff for the Chancellor

Brenda Selman
University Registrar

Angela Drake
Director of the Veteran’s Clinic
MU School of Law

David Hammer
UM System Representative

Lt. Col. Gary Kerr

Kyle Smith
Mizzou Student Veterans Assoc.

Alexandria Lewis
Faculty Representative

Jeff Sossamon
Office of Research

Becky Stafford
Central Missouri Blue Star Mothers

Mary Paulsell
Central Missouri Honor Flight

Standing Committee Members


Karim Abdulkhalik
Air Force ROTC

Dr. Steve Barnes
MU Health

Gregory Bier
Trulaske School of Business

Steve Devlin
MU Extension & Engagement

Kevin King
Navel ROTC

Lyrissa Lidsky
MU School of Law

Stephanie Reid-Arndt
School of Health Professions


Tina Balser
MU Connect

Heather Brown
Truman VA Hospital

Derek Collier
Mizzou Online

Crystal Elliott
Student Affairs

Terrance Grus
Graduate Studies

Cheryl Jobe
Disability Office

Eric Henley
Staff Council

Jay Luksis
Intercollegiate Athletics

Chris Montgomery

James Musgraves
Mizzou Military Veterans
Alumni Association

Joe Pille

Ashley Schwab
University Events

Kim Siegenthaller
Undergraduate Studies

Missouri Students Association (MSA)

Ethan Cannon
MSA Student Representative

Haydn Elsey
MSA Student Representative

Graduate Professional Council (GPC)

Jared Beasley
Graduate-Professional Council

Ex Officio

Tim Rich
Executive Director
Welcome Home

David Russell
UM Retiree